Out of Province Power Engineering Transfers

In Saskatchewan you are required to have a licence to work as a power engineer in the province. If you want to continue your education and training (by challenging exams) towards a higher power engineering classification you must transfer your out of province certificate to Saskatchewan.  

As a member of the Standardization of Power Engineering Examination Committee (SOPEEC), Saskatchewan uses SOPEEC examinations to test first, second, third, fourth and fifth class candidates. Candidates that successfully complete SOPEEC examinations (all papers) and have the required operating experience can receive a Standardized Certificate which is recognized throughout Canada.

The holder of a valid certificate from another province may transfer his/her certificate to Saskatchewan. The Trade, Investment, Labour and Mobility Agreement (TILMA) and the Agreement on International Trade (AIT) allows skilled tradespersons moving to Saskatchewan from another province to be eligible for equivalent trade qualifications.  

Transfer of Licence & Certificate from another Province to Saskatchewan

Applications for continuing education by challenging exams and working in Saskatchewan:

Transfer of Oilfield Certificate from Alberta to Saskatchewan

Transfer of Out of Province Power Engineering Exam Marks Only

Use this form if you want to transfer exam marks ONLY to Sasktchewan from another Canadian jurisdiction

Transfer of Power Engineer Certificate from Saskatchewan to other Provinces

Please contact the Province you wish to transfer to.  The links for the other Canadian Jurisdictions are listed below.


British Columbia  -  Technical Safety BC

Manitoba  -  Mechanical and Engineering Branch

New Brunswick -  Technical Inspection Services

Newfoundland - Engineering and Inspections Division

Northwest Territory - Public Works and Services, Electrical/ Mechanical Inspections

Nova Scotia - Public Safety

Nunavut - Public & Business Services, Safety Services

Ontario - Technical Standards & Safety Authority (TSSA)

Prince Edward Island - Inspection Services

Yukon Territory - Department of Community Services, Mechanical Inspections